Eneferens – The Bleakness of Our Constant

Life’s full of irony. First Black Metal bands were the denial of religion. They were also the denial of rich instrumental tradition in Metal music. They claimed to play the rawest as they could. No concessions to melody or any sort of softness in their music. Machine gun drumming and blasting guitars with roaring vocals, that was the recipe. No more, no less. However, as long as many think this was the ultimate frontier, Black Metal changed. A lot. But the essence is still intact. Some may the subgenre got old and mature. I’d rather say it simply moved the other way around. As I said in my article about Black Metal (read the full article here), bands are joining i their music all of humankind emotions. That’s a huge thing.

A band like Eneferens is here to feature us all the changes within the subgenre. “The Bleakness of Our Constant” is an album that has the ability of joining musicwise all humankind emotions. There are anger, fear, wrath, but also happiness and joy. The sweet and the bitter, the dark and the light, the ugly and the beautiful. “The Bleakness of Our Constant” could be a poem of any major author due to its complexity in dealing with emotion in songs like “Awake” with a clean voice. Yes, my child of the night, clean voices are allowed to extreme metal. A praise to that! Then there is the following “Weight of the Mind’s Periapt” with a somber voice which takes down the vibe as if it were a bad day in your life. That’s the way life it is, my child of the night. Even though they try hard to sell us songs with girls in bikinis and an eternal happiness, we all know life just it isn’t that way. Life’s more a Black Metal thing, don’t you agree?

A big praise to bands like Eneferens and albums like “The Bleakness of Our Constant.” You keep the flame high and bright.

Eneferens “The Bleakness of Our Constant” will be released on October 26th via Bindrune Recordings (USA) and Nordvis (Europe).

Track Listing:

  1. Leave
  2. This Onward Reach
  3. Amethyst
  4. Awake
  5. Weight of the Mind’s Periapt
  6. 11_34
  7. Selene

Watch “This Onward Reach” official video here: