Impiety – Versus All Gods

Impiety “Versus All Gods” is an album that has two prominent sides, or faces, if you will. One of them that smacks up your face from the beginning is the modern raw merciless facet with “Reigning Armageddon” after “Intro: Kommand IX” which is pretty orchestral and may lead the fan to a deception due to the shock happened when “Reigning Armageddon” starts with its crude and wrathful mood. A track that borders the Grind. The following “Djinn of All Djinns” is more guitar cadenced with a fast drumming in contrast. The effect to the fan is that the song doesn’t sound so fast at all despite of the drumming. Both pungent pieces of the most cruel and revengeful Death Metal. The other side which may be felt by last track “Magickal Wrath” is an Old School facet still raw but with straight-ahead feeling that dominated Extreme Metal bands that time. To whom isn’t a fan of Extreme Metal, or even the ones that don’t pay attention to the music, both may sound the same, but there are some differences in terms of instrumentals. Those influences are kind of mixed throughout “Versus All Gods” and, nonetheless, mixed into the songs. Take “Azazel” for instance. It mixes all those elements in it with a fierceful instrumental leading to the sweet, but dark and dense, piano instrumental “Inviktus Satanikus.”

Sometimes it seems that Death Metal has turned into a hodgepodge of influences and sonance. De rigueur, it is difficult not to agree with this feeling due to the immense quantity of bands playing it and trying to stand out from the crowd. From where I stand, it is necessary once in a while that a band comeback to basics as Impiety did in “Versus All Gods.” In order to set things straight, I guess. It’s very interesting when a band contrasts two worlds and conceptions as Impiety do in this album, and notably, in tracks as “Interstellar Deathf**k” with its female angelical vocals giving it a modern approach but still with the classic grip. But I guess what remains in mind with “Versus All Gods” is the classic and punchful grip, and that’s Impiety’s intent after all. I have no doubt of it.

Impiety “Versus All Gods” will be released on January 20th via Evil Dead Productions / Shivadarshana.

Track Listing:

  1. Intro: Kommand IX
  2. Reigning Armageddon
  3. Djinn of All Djinns
  4. Barbarian Black Horde
  5. Azazel
  6. Inviktus Satanikus
  7. Terror Occult Dominion
  8. Dajjal United
  9. Interstellar Deathf**k
  10. Magickal Wrath

Watch “Azazel” official lyric video here: