Innasanatorium – Odyssey of the Mind Review

You know that kind of album that at first listen you say “Nah, won’t review it” but then somehow there’s a major plot twist and you end up loving it? Yeah, that’s what happened here with Innasanatorium “Odyssey of the Mind” a band and album that dare to fight some genre standards. I see in “Odyssey of the Mind” an album that dare to go beyond the genre classification and, moreover, go beyond Metal music standards without selling the sul to the big man. It’s at the same time modern but with an envolving wrapping of tradition and great music – of course as this is the subject of any review.

Innasanatorium followed the formula of giving the fan the modern facete of their work in the first tracks of “Odyssey of the Mind.” This was the moment when I thought about not reviewing the album. The long “Show Me Your Scars” has so many touches of modern Metal the cores that I almost gave up however the wonderful classic inspired intro whose musicallity got me. Second track “The Decline” tries another facete of the band giving it more Sludge and 1990s Metal touches being hard as iron with some guitar interventions that pay off. It reminds a little Testament and their will to power. For the fan’s sake Innasanatorium have applied all their personal touch in it leaving far away from the cores. “Night Terrors” goes with the same vibe in the intro, but things start to change when vocal comes giving it the Thrash Metal intent the band desired to give. From now on “Odyssey of the Mind” goes getting near Thrash Metal standards. But hold your horses, the album doesn’t get predictable in any way.  The band goes on changing the way Thrash Metal can be played with touches of other Extreme Metal genres and features with some Heavy Metal ones. Check “The Despair” out to get what I’m saying. Take a look at “#scottyfrommarketing” – wow, what a name – and see how the band mix Suicidal Tendencies with Death Metal with a 1990s vocal that changes a lot during the song. Unforgetable.

“Odyssey of the Mind” is an album to change minds and opinions. As I said before Innasanatorium are a band that mix with dexterity elements from the past and from the present creating the music of the future. It’s pretty rare to see a Thrash Metal band that is able to do that so easily. The blend delivered here catches the eye of the fan. It’s one of the most interesting Thrash Metal albums that I’ve heard for some time. Innasanatorium transcend their own genre.

Innasanatorium “Odyssey of the Mind” was independently released on July 13th.

Track Listing:

  1.  Intro
  2. Show Me Your Scars
  3. The Decline (Odyssey Of The Mind Part 1)
  4. Night Terrors
  5. Shifting Shadows
  6. The Despair (Odyssey Of The Mind Part 2)
  7. #scottyfrommarketing
  8. Science in the House Of God
  9. The Desire (Odyssey Of The Mind Part 3)
  10. Accelerated Oblivion
  11. Outro
  12. Freak

Watch “Show Me Your Scars” official video here: