Nocturnalia – III: Winter

Having a vocalist with an easyly recognazible voice is a double-edged sword because it can backfire – hum, sword backfire? Poor choice of words, isn’t it? Okay, then.

Ok, seriously now. Having a known tone of voice helps because people will like it. The problem is that this same people may think that the band is a mere copycat. Lack of originality is really a problem. The fact is that Linus’s vocals reminds a lot the great The Door’s Jim Morrison. It’s an undeniable fact. But the burning question is how does it affect Nocturnalia and “III: Winter”?

At first, it affects a lot because it’s impossible not to connect the dots with his voice and the most famous band. In fact, first track “The Calling” shows a voice that reminds a lot Jim Morrison though instrumentals are very different from what The Doors used to play. But then, when you listen to all the album you realise that Nocturnalia “III: Winter” is a very interesting album because of its Heavy Rock moments and the neat instrumentals. Listening to all the album makes you forget the similarity of the voice. Tracks as “Forsaken” show a mature band that really knows how to please the fan. “Beyond the White” is also a track to highlight due to its inspired guitar lines and solo and also the musical roupage chosen to it. The dark and gloomy, but beautifully performed passages in “Winter Hymn” are also a highlight.

The name Nocturnalia may deceive the fan that could think it’s an Extreme Metal band, but what “III: Winter” got is a pretty consistent Heavy Rock which borders Gothic Metal sometimes with some touches of post punk. The outcome is an album that may please even the most hardcore Metal fan due to the extreme quality of the music Nocturnalia deliver. It’s album to listen with a free heart and mind. If you do, you won’t be disappointed.

Of course, many of my readers won’t have a clue of whom Jim Morrison is. So, if you are among those fellows, please, enjoy Nocturnalia “III: Winter” per se.

Nocturnalia “III: Winter” will be released on November 08th via The Sign.

Track Listing:

  1. The Calling
  2. Spell of the Night
  3. By Nature
  4. Come Alive
  5. Forsaken
  6. Beyond the White
  7. Winter Hymn
  8. The Son

Watch “Beyond the White” lyric video here: